SSAIHQ CMS Display Portlet


Meet Min Huang

May 18, 2023 SSAI in the News

Min Huang hails from China, where she grew up in the City of Nanjing. She is passionate about her work in math and science. She planned a career in those fields and can’t imagine herself doing anything else! She loves to travel, learn about different cultures, and has participated in countless races over the years! Please take a minute to learn a little more about Min!

Where did you go to school? 
I attended schools in my home city in China before I moved to the U.S. to attend graduate school at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA.

Did you do anything fun during the summers while in high school or college? 
In college, I was an intern at a local environmental protection Technology company. In high school, I spent a summer in Australia as an exchange student with two host families. 

What is your role at work? 

I am a Senior Research Scientist working at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. There, I am responsible for routinely producing and distributing Land Data Assimilation products. I also use those products along with other NASA datasets/tools to address science questions.

What excites you most about your work? 
The products we distribute may broadly and greatly benefit users in different parts of the world. For example, we recently received an inquiry from a water engineering consultant expert from Iran. They check our data products every day and find it useful for their work. Also, I am very impressed and inspired by my NASA colleagues who do excellent and impactful work.

What got you on the path to where you are now? 
Both of my parents, who have degrees in STEM majors, and my fantastic research advisors/teams, had a lot of positive influences on me.

If you weren’t working in the field you are right now, what other job would you be interested in trying? 
Some other areas in Earth Science.

What did you want to be when you were a kid?
Mathematician, scientist, or a math or science teacher.

What is your favorite hobby? 
In general, outdoor activities (e.g., running, hiking), traveling, and watching movies. From when I was in high school, I have participated in a number of races. I have been to many places since I was young and enjoyed learning new cultures.

What is something you’ve done in your life that makes you feel accomplished? 
Recently, I transitioned to my new role at SSAI/NASA Goddard and completed a data science certificate with MIT. 

What do you wish you had more time for? 
Visiting more museums in the DC area.

What’s your dream vacation location? 
There are many places in Europe and Central/South America that I’d like to visit as I am interested to learn more about the cultures there.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would that be? 
I have lived in DC for over 8 years and like it here.

Tell us your favorite life hack.
One of them is don’t leave things until the last minute.

Please share your favorite go-to self-care tip that has helped you through the past couple of years.
Wear a mask and wash hands often.

If you could time travel, what time-period would be the first you’d want to visit? 

I would go into the future because of my curiosity.

Would you rather live somewhere remote or urban? 
A multicultural urban or suburban area for convenience and diversity.

What do you with your spare time? 
Outdoor activities, traveling, watching movies.

Are you a member of any groups or clubs? 
Yes, I am a member of many professional groups such as the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

What excites you about supporting our customers? 
Being exposed to new technologies and smart teams and the opportunity to contribute to the development and advancement of them.